Research Department Home

Department Mission

The UHS Research Department is responsible for a Human Protections Administration program that assures all study activities related to human subject research, regardless of funding source, will be guided by the principles of the Belmont Report. The department facilitates the review and approval of each research protocol conducted within the University Health System. All research contracts and billing are managed through the Research Department. The UHS Research Billing Department is responsible for all invoicing and collections.


How to Reach Us

Research Department:

University Hospital
4502 Medical Drive, MS
96-1
San Antonio, TX 78229
Research@uhs-sa.com
Research.Patient@uhs-sa.com (Patient Billing)
Phone: 210.743.6450
Fax: 210.702.6103


Office Staff:

Anna G Taranova, MD, MS, CCRP
Executive Research Director
Phone: 210.358.3121
Fax: 210.358.3092
anna.taranova@uhs-sa.com

Deidre A Winnier, PhD
Director
Phone: 210.743.6451
Fax: 210.702.6103
deidre.winnier@uhs-sa.com

Janet McCarthy, RN
Senior Clinical Research Coordinator
Phone: 210.743.6457
Fax: 210.702.6103
janet.mccarthy@uhs-sa.com

Clara Vorpahl
Senior Coordinator
Phone: 210.743.6456
Fax: 210.702.6103
clara.vorpahl@uhs-sa.com
       
       

 

Hours: 7:30 - 4:30pm
Location: Rio Tower 10th floor
(We are located close to the "E"
elevators)







Rosemary Wells, RRT,CCRC
Clinical Research Coordinator
Phone: 210.743.6464
Fax: 210.702.6103
rosemary.wells@uhs-sa.com

Amy Richardson
Research Coordinator
Phone: 210.743.6455
Fax: 210.702.6103
amy.richardson@uhs-sa.com

Maye Medina, CPC, CRC
Research Code and Documentation Specialist
Phone: 210.743.6456
Fax: 210.702.6103
maye.medina@uhs-sa.com

Tiffany Orman, MHIM, RHIA
Assistant Director of Research Compliance
Phone: 210.743.6453
Fax: 210.702.6103
tiffany.orman@uhs-sa.com